What’s in the Bag? Woods and Driver

My WoodsOk. So you know I am a Callaway devotee. So it will be of no surprise that I carry Callaway woods and a Callaway driver. I used to be wary of using my fairway woods. I am still hesitant to reach for one when I am actually on the fairway. I’d much rather grab a 3 or 4 hybrid. However, off of a tee, they are a very good alternative to the driver. Contrary to popular belief, not every par 4 or even 5 is a driver hole. On occasion, you need a club to split a shoot of trees or lay up in front of some fairway bunkers. In these cases, I reach for either my 3+ or 4+ wood. I usually carry one or the other (depending on the course) as the “go to” club for precise tee shots or if my driver just isn’t in the slot that day. After his performance at the Deutsche Bank Championship on Friday, Phil Mickelson should follow my lead. I carry the Callaway Big Bertha Fairway Woods. I can’t tell you anything special about them other than I can hit them consistently and the confidence that brings is fantastic. You may be wondering what is a + (plus) wood. A plus wood or ‘strong’ wood general can be described as a club with the same shaft length and lie of the standard club that it represents with the loft of the next lower club. For example a standard BB Fairway 3 Wood is 43″ in length with a lie of 56°. It’s loft is 15°. The 3+ wood has the same length and lie but with a loft of 13°.FTI

My driver is a Callaway FTI with draw bias. Yes, I can even slice even this one. Overall, I really like this driver. When it’s in the slot, it really is fun to hit. It makes a really interesting sound when hit. The large square head inspires confidence at address. I wouldn’t own one were it not for an excessive number of American Express points.

My next What’s in the Bag? post will focus on balls, carts and gizmos!

  1. #1 by Joseph Murphy on September 4, 2007 - 9:15 pm

    Mike,

    Re: the statement “After his performance at the Deutsche Bank Championship on Friday, Phil Mickelson should follow my lead. ”

    FYI, Mickelson won buy two, defeating Tiger Woods.

    The Mild Weasel

  2. #2 by Paul on September 29, 2007 - 11:23 am

    FYI.
    I have a spoon, mid-iron, niblick, water mashie, track iron, cran cleek and a woody in my bag. I probably should seriously consider upgrading. What do you think? I am definitely going to get that woody out of my bag.

Leave a Reply

