What’s in the Bag? Irons, Wedges and Putters

Clubs say a lot about their owner. How serious do you take the sport? How much do you believe the club maker’s marketing machine message? Can you handle blades (or pretend to) or do you prefer cavity backs? Are you a purist with real woods and long irons or do you prefer the hybrids? Square, triangle or conventional head drivers? How many wedges are in the bag? Well, I am about to share what’s in my bag. Let me know what you think!

NXO RevolverBefore we talk about whats in the bag, how about answering the question of “what is the bag?” The Bag Boy NXO Revolver is the bag for me. This bag features a revolving top that enable quick access to the club you need. Say goodbye to reaching over 13 clubs to get the club you need. Just grab the top and spin it around until the desired club is directly in front of you. You’ll feel like you have a caddy right there with youBig Bertha Irons.

My irons are Callaway. Why Callaway? We’ll, aside from the marketing machine that makes anyone without them second guess their purchase, the Callaway Big Bertha 2004 Iron Set (3-W) was the 1st set of clubs that I could consistently hit straight. The large club head and deep cavity allowed me to hit the ball off-center without paying a steep price. I tried the Taylormade RAC Irons and I sliced (we are talking as right as you can get) on just about every shot. I brought them back the same day that I purchased them. I have replaced my 3, 4, 5 and 6 irons with Callaway Heavenwood Hybrids. It took a while to get used to them but I wouldn’t part with them now.

hybridIn my opinion, wedges can make or break the golfer. If you can’t approach, chip or pitch you’ve got issues. Landing on and holding a green with a mid or even short iron can be difficult if not impossible on sun-dried bent grass greens. I would argue my comfort with my wedges is more important than that of my putter as my technique doesn’t change with a rear-shafted mallet or your run-of-the-mill blade putter: Square the face and back and through – rinse and repeat.

My weapons of choice are the Callaway Forged + Wedges. I currently carry the gap (52) sand (56), and lob (60). This will change soon as I have ordered a fairway wood that I feel I need for the longer courses. I used to use the Big Bertha 2004 sand wedge and lob wedge. I often liken the experience to ‘performing surgery with a meat cleaver’! The moral of the story: cavity back wedges are not a good option. . . for me.

i-traxThe putter is a very personal club. It’s importance is pretty obvious: Unless you use hole a chip or get lucky on and approach, you’ll use the darn thing on every hole! I prefer mallets to blades. I use a back and through stroke as opposed to an arched stroke. I carry the Callaway i-Trax mallet putter. Putting is the one aspect of golf that came naturally to me. I don’t get phased by 4 or even 5 foot putts unless there is a ton of break. Do I three jack? Yes, on occasion, but I never get nervous with the putter. Fairway woods and the driver are another story. I’ll talk about those clubs in later posts!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

